While this subject is frequently discussed in the field of human resources to identify the best possible candidate for a position, it remains true that personality is not built in adulthood but from childhood. Understanding this will allow you to have an even more observant eye regarding your child.

Before I explain the differences, let me call upon your memory. Personality is the expression and combination of various characteristics of an individual that make them different from others.

You’ve probably heard of extraverts or introverts, understanding that one is talkative and the other is shy. That’s not entirely untrue: we will delve further to learn more about your child because undoubtedly they are UNIQUE and incomparable.

Your child may seem to have a certain type of personality today, but it might not be their true “self.”

What do I mean?

Some of us are not ourselves because we have undergone experiences that push us to be someone else.

I was talking to a mother about her 10-year-old child’s personality, and she confirmed that he wasn’t like that when he was much younger. She explained to me that the difficult environment with classmates at school had changed him. An adult, this time, confirmed that he didn’t behave like that before: a teacher’s remark caused a blockage.

The looks and words of others often affect us, and our children are not spared.

Others have told me that the words of parents or teachers led them to develop another personality because theirs did not match their culture or upbringing.

However, living a character that one is not will increase frustration and make it difficult to see signs for guidance.

1/ The 4 personality types

The 4 personality or temperament types result from the work in the 1920s of Dr. William Moulton Marston, a psychologist and professor at Harvard University. His work was theorized and explained in his book “Emotions of Normal People” published in 1928. Dr. Marston highlighted the fact that the expression of human emotions was based on 4 major pillars that take into account the individual’s perception of themselves as well as their relationship with others and their environment. These 4 pillars are: Dominance, Influence, Steadiness, and Compliance.

Many years later, these pillars gave rise to the DISC profile which includes the 4 major personality types: Dominant type, Influential type, Steadiness type, and Conscientious or Conformist type. It should be noted that these 4 personality types are also commonly known under another designation: the Choleric temperament (Dominant), the Sanguine temperament (Influential), the Phlegmatic temperament (Steady), and the Melancholic temperament (Conscientious).

a/ “Dominant” personality type:

• Direct

• Assertive

• Takes charge, leads

• Enjoys challenges

• Demanding

• Wants results

This type of personality is often found in politicians, coaches, or managers. Arrogance and tyranny are the negative expressions of this category (analogous to the previous chapter).


This text is an excerpt from the book “Your Child Is A Champion” written by Jérémie Meyer.

We invite you to read the following article “PREJUDICES TO BE SHUT DOWN”.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *